If you no longer need a database in DISCO Review, you have two main options: deactivation and vault.
If you will not need your data at a later date, you can deactivate your database. This process permanently deletes all your data from DISCO Review. Deactivated databases cannot be restored.
Archiving is an optional step in the deactivation process. Before deactivation is complete, DISCO can archive your documents by running a production of all your documents. DISCO then sends you the data via FTP or on an external hard drive.
Archived data includes all documents (the natives, near natives, text files, and metadata) and work product (tags, document notes, privilege notes, custom fields, redactions, and metadata redactions). It does not include some application data, such as folders, exhibit sets, predictive scores, review metrics, review stages, and saved searches. If you want to save this information, you should vault your database instead.
Deactivating a database
Typically, a 30-day notice is required before deleting a database.
- Fill out and submit the Deactivate a Matter form.
- DISCO will email and/or call you. If you want your data archived, indicate that in your reply.
Vaulting is a storage option in which all your data is maintained for a reduced price. You can vault either an entire database or a subset of documents in an active database.
For more information on vaulting, see Vaulting data.