Only review database administrators can perform document deletions.
Specific document deletion might be necessary due to a court order or a legal agreement, such as in a clawback. No matter the reason, document deletion is performed like any other mass action, with documents selected via a search or by using the checkboxes in the document list.
Document deletion can be performed on as many documents as you select through search. If you want to delete an entire ingest, you can also delete documents through deleting an ingest session.
The main difference between this action and other mass actions is that once you've clicked Delete documents, you will see two warning screens. The first warning screen will give you the option to vault the documents instead of deleting them. You can learn more about vault by clicking Learn more about Vault.
If you click No thanks to continue with document deletion, a second warning screen will include information about the particular collection of documents you selected. Colored boxes at the top of the screen alert you to the fact that some of the selected documents have a complication or concern you should be aware of. This screen also includes a link to download a pre-deletion report, which includes details about the documents you want to delete.
You should read all of the warnings carefully, since you may wish to vault your documents, make changes to which documents are being deleted, or export a list of the documents before deletion.
After you have deleted your documents, you may need to refresh the window for the documents to disappear from your database's list.
For a training video about DISCO's document deletion feature, see Document deletion - Feature spotlight.